Luck o’ the Irish

St. Patrick’s Day has come and gone, but it left me with something green, crispy and delicious to snack on:

Kale chips.

It must have been the luck of the Irish that was granted upon me that day. Kale chips are a pain to make, and I went through a process of trial and error for at least five batches prior to my last attempt. The leaves are rather robust, but adding too much heat and time can burn them in a matter of minutes. I finally came upon a Food Network recipe by Mellisa D’Arabian that is perfect.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/melissa-darabian/crispy-kale-chips-recipe.html


Here’s what you do:

  • Gather your ingredients: kale, olive oil and salt.
  • Cut the rib out of each piece of kale. Just run your knife along the rib on either end; it comes off easily.
  • Cut the kale into even pieces, about an inch each. Coat the leaves in olive oil and place them on a tray lined with tin foil or parchment paper. You don’t have to do that, but I don’t have a dishwasher, and I hate cleaning dishes so the foil eliminates dish-washing.
  • Place the kale in the oven at 275 degrees. Let them go for 10 minutes, then take them out and gently flip them and move them around. Put the kale back in the oven and cook for 10 more minutes and…
  • You’ve got kale chips! Toss ’em in salt to season them. I also like to sprinkle paprika on the kale, just for a little something more.

Kale chips are oddly addictive. I ate that whole bowl immediately after I cooked it. When it comes to newly discovered SCD legal snacks, I just can’t help myself.

I bought that batch of kale at the Union Farmers Market (featured on my last post), and I plan to buy more this week! If you haven’t tried kale chips, give them a try. And bake them yourself. I think you’ll find that the process is fun, plus it’s much cheaper than buying them in the store.

Keep eating green Gainesville!

Leave a comment