Misadventures in Wonderland

There’s a sticker that circulated around Gainesville that says “Anything that can go right will.”

I’m not a disillusioned person, but I always liked that phrase. I liked it, but I never said it was true.

This summer I embarked on an adventure to Berlin, Germany. Up until the moment my luggage arrived at the Berlin hotel – late – everything that could go wrong did.

Here’s a synopsis of all the fun misadventures I got myself into on my unexpected three-day transit to Berlin:

  • Hung out at the MIA airport for five hours waiting for my delayed flight
  • Got off the plane because the pilot wasn’t there
  • Got on the plane when the pilot showed up
  • Arrived in New York at 1:30 a.m. Friday and missed my connecting flight to Berlin
  • Received a free hotel room and a boatload of airport meal vouchers from American Airlines
  • Successfully navigated from the hotel in Queens to the Upper East Side of Manhattan on the subway
  • Went to Central Park
  • Got lost in Central Park
  • Met a flight attendant from Buenos Ares who is training to become a pilot
  • Walked to the Metropolitan just before the rain
  • Accidentally stayed in the European classical paintings section way too long
  • Saw at least 10 Van Goh paintings
  • Ate a mediocre burger in a space with six bar stools, 10 employees and one cooktop
  • Almost got crushed by a subway train door
  • Missed my connecting flight in London Heathrow to Berlin Saturday morning
  • Met a young Polish engineer on the flight to Berlin
  • Finally got to Berlin – before my luggage
  • Dreamed about my luggage all Saturday night while talking in my sleep
  • Ended my streak of bad luck Sunday when I picked up my suitcase from the front desk

That concludes my unluckly streak of misadventures – I hope.

 

Leave a comment